Control

Who is in control in your relationship you or God?

The obvious answer to this question is God but when you actually sit down and think about the response to this then does your answer change? It is easy for us to tell others based on their situation that God is in control but then we are only kidding ourselves because when we hit a tough time in our life, do we allow God to be in control or do we take over?

Recently, control has been something that God is teaching me. I am the type of person that I need to be in control with everything. I need to know what is happening on which particular day and that said time and I need to know what I am getting way before I plan to go somewhere. It doesn’t sound as bad as I am making it though lol. I just like to be organised and plan ahead of what is happening but then it leaves me at a struggle when I am in a situation and need to let go of what is happening so that God can take over. Sometimes I have to just stop in my tracks and God tells me to relax and slow down. The more I do, the less control I give God.

We have to allow God to have total control in all things because once we want to have control in everything we then limit God. We stop God from being God in our lives and this is what we need to understand. We cannot tell God what to do, we can talk to God with boldness and confidence but we cannot tell God how we want things done. Leaving things to God shows a level of maturity within your walk with him because you then realise that you need God at all points of your life. This is how it ties in with the scripture we looked at last week Proverbs 3:5-6 ‘’trust in The Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding’’. Using this scripture let’s relate it to control:

When you choose to trust God notice how I said ‘choose’ it is a choice to trust God. You either choose to trust God with everything or you have a half hearted relationship with him where you only trust him based on your terms which is the controlling spirit. Having a controlling spirit can really be dangerous when walking with Christ because this then transfers on how people view you. You want people to see the God in you and this can only be done when the fruits of the spirit follow you. Galatians 5:22-23 mention what the fruits of the spirit are: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness and self control.

The type of control that God requires us to have is self control. Don’t get me wrong, you have to be in control of your life and be able to stand up for what you believe in. God has given us all a voice, let’s use it for influence and not harm.

Therefore, I want to challenge you this week, whatever you’re facing, why not let God be in control of it and watch the results.

Peace & Love

Natasha

Twitter: @NatashaK18

Leave a Reply

